2015 Benny Gillepsie

Created: Saturday, 28 February 2015 Written by James Byrne

Andrew Gillespie wins 2015 Benny Gillespie Title

 2015 Benny Gillespie getting the cup from Noel McDevitt

Andrew Gillespie has won a long overdue local title following a superb display on the day to clinch the Benny Gillespie Memorial Cup, defeated in his last six local tournaments over the years makes this victory all the special for Andrew who has been one of the most consistent players on the scene for years (he did win a local tournament in 1998 in Carrick that was held for local charities, that tournament paved the way for the Con Sean Memorial) in fact his very first leg of the evening was an eleven darter against Aidan Gillespie. His opponent in the final was Antony Gallagher who had no answer to Andrew’s scoring and finishing in the end Andrew ran out a 6-3 winner, in the semis Andrew defeated Kieran Gallagher and Antony beat Jason Cunnea. 32 players in total entered on the evening which was filled with top class action many thanks to all who supported this tournament and helps in any way.


Andrew Gillespie 6 Anthony Gallagher 3

Semi Finals

Andrew Gillespie 4 Kieran Gallagher 2

Anthony Gallagher 4 Jason Cunnea 1

Quarter Finals

Andrew Gillespie 3 Joe Shovlin 2 (Andrew 12 dart leg)

Kieran Gallagher 3 Gabriel Boyle 0

Anthony Gallagher 3 Noel McDevitt 0

Jason Cunnea 3 Kieran Carr 2

Second Round

Andrew Gillespie 3 Gerry McNern 1

Joe Shovlin 3 Dermot McGuire 2

Kieran Gallagher 3 John McGinley 1

Gabriel Boyle 3 Eoin Carr 2

Anthony Gallagher 3 Hugh Doherty Jnr 2

Noel McDevitt 3 James Byrne (Kilcar) 1

Jason Cunnea 3 Jamie McNern 1

Kieran Carr 3 James Boyle 1

First Round

Andrew Gillespie 3 Aidan Gillespie (Andrew 11 dart leg)

Gerry McNern 3 Barry Carr 1

Joe Shovlin 3 Conal O’Gara 0

Dermot McGuire 3 Raymond Hegarty 1

Kieran Gallagher 3 Norman Fuller 2

John McGinley 3 Kevin Squires 0

Gabriel Boyle 3 Colm McGlinchey 0

Eoin Carr 3 Martin Boyle 1

Anthony Gallagher 3 David Gillespie 0

Hugh Doherty Jnr 3 John Gallagher 1

Noel McDevitt 3 Kevin McNern 2

Jason Cunnea 3 Martin Carr 2

Jamie McNern 3 Jourdain Cunningham 1

Kieran Carr 3 James Byrne (Carrick) 0

James Boyle 3 Ryan McNern 0




Upcoming Events

No events