2017 B Cup Final

Created: Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Miners B take B Cup victory

John The Miners B 5 The Cope House 2

In a repeat of last year’s final John the Miners B got revenge for last year’s defeat with a trilling last leg win over The Cope House. Hugh Doherty and Jamie McNern beat Wilfie Milsop and Steven Muirhead 2-1 and Liam Donegan and Paddy Haughey beat David Gallagher and Irwin Muirhead to put the Miners 2-0 up after the doubles. Steven Muirhead beat Liam Donegan 3-2 in the opening singles but then Hugh Doherty beat David Spot 3-2 in two cracking singles games. Irwin Muirhead defeated Jamie McNern 3-0 to leave it 3-2 so it was down to the last match to win which was drawn as the two pointer where veteran Paddy Haughey beat fellow veteran Wilfie Milsop 3-2 to secure the win for the Carrick side.