2016 Knockout Cup Final

John The Miners are 2016 Knockout Champions

 Captain John McHugh receiving the cup from league PRO James Byrne

In a dramatic match played in O’Donnell’s on Saturday John The Miners in their first season in the league won the Knockout Cup 4-3 with the game going down to the final leg, Andrew Gillespie won the opening match with a 5-0 win over John McHugh, Adie Hamilton tied it up following a 5-4 win over Josie Gillespie with Josie very unlucky not to win this match, John Menchia Gallagher threw great darts to defeat Kieran Gallagher 5-1. Adrian Byrne beat Noel McGinley in another close match 5-4 he had a 180 in the final deciding match we went the distance for the third time of the night with James Bracken Byrne defeating Jamesie Boyle 5-4 he also had a 180, well done to both sides for a great nights entertainment and commiserations to O’Donnell’s who also lost last year’s cup final and came so close to winning this one and congratulations to John The Miners on their success in their first year in the league.

Kilcar House 7 John Eoinins

Kilcar House moved to within two points of the top of the league with a 7-0 win over John Eoinins, Raymond Hegarty had a 147 checkout while Roger McShane hit a 120 check out in the pointer win over Jason Cunnea, Kilcar House now play John The Miners B on Wednesday night and on Friday they host O’Donnell’s in a title deciding game, O’Donnell’s piped Kilcar House last season when they both ended on the same points with a better head to head record while the Kiclar side were also runners up the previous season and last won the league in 2003. John Eoinins host the Cope House also on Wednesday and are away to John The Miners on Friday as they look to secure a shield semi-final place, the shield semi-finals take place the following weekend with first playing fourth and second playing third.

P             W            L              F              A             PTS

O’Donnell’s                     9              7             2              46           17            46

John The Miners            10            7             3             46           24            46

Kilcar House                    8              7             1              44           12           44

John Eoinins                    8             2              7              19          37           19

John The Miners B          8              1              7            14            42           14  

Cope House                     9              2              7             13            50           13


Wednesday 9th March

Kilcar House v John The Miners B

John Eoinins v Cope House

Friday 11th March 
Kilcar House v O'Donnell's 
John the Miners B v John Eoinins
2016 Leo Molloy Darts

Tickets are now for sale in Kilcar House and online for the 2016 Leo Molloy darts tournament on Saturday March 12th in Kilcar, ladies competition also on the day see our Facebook page of donegaldarts.com for more information or contact James at 086-9969256.