2019 Con Sean

Meencha wins first Con Sean Title

For the second year in a row the Con Sean Cup stays in the South West following a first title win for John Meencha (who was a beaten finalist in 2013 and 2017) in The Rusty on Saturday, the O’Donnell’s and Donegal player played excellent all evening and had a 140 checkout and a 12 dart leg in his win over defending champion John Con in the quarterfinals in the final he defeated Alan Byrne who was appearing in his first final 6-3 in a very enjoyable match. Beaten semi-finalist were Donegal youths player Alex Hughes and John McHugh while the highest checkout of the event was by John Porter who took out 158. Thanks to all the players who entered we were slightly down in numbers this year but as it was only a few months since the last Con Sean that’s understandable but the main thing is that we are back on the traditional weekend and next year will be bigger and better with more boards in play. Thanks to all who marked and checked matches which meant that the tournament ran smoothly and to John and The Rusty for hosting this event which has now ran for 21 years.


John Meencha 6 Alan Byrne 3

Semi Finals

John Meencha 5 John McHugh 0

Alan Byrne 5 Alex Hughes 0

Quarter Finals

John Meencha 4 John Con McGinley 1 (12 dart leg and 140 c/o Meencha)

John McHugh 4 Hugh Doherty 3

Alan Byrne 4 Stephen Harron 0

Alex Hughes 4 James Byrne 1 (180 James)

Third Round

John Meencha 3 Reece Brennan 1

John Con McGinley 3 Francis McShane 0

John McHugh 3 Tomás Byrne 0

Hugh Doherty 3 Tony Carlin 0 (180 Tony)

Alan Byrne 3 John Porter 2 (131 c/o Alan)

Stephen Harron 3 Orin McDermott 1

Alex Hughes 3 Stephen Nicolson 1

James Byrne 3 David Gallagher 0

Second Round

John Meencha 3 Declan Cunningham 1

Reece Brennan 3 John Byrne 0

John Con McGinley 3 Gerry McBrearty 0

Francis McShane 3 Brian McNally 0

John McHugh 3 Eoghan McGill 1

Tomás Byrne 3 Dylan Curran 2

Hugh Doherty 3 Gabriel O’Neill 0

Tony Carlin 3 Aidan McGinley 1

Alan Byrne 3 Liam Melly 1

John Porter 3 Michael Curran 1 (158 c/o and 180 John)

Stephen Harron 3 Cartha Boyle 2

Orin McDermott 3 Edward Cunnea 0

Alex Hughes 3 JP Byrne 1 (120 c/o JP)

Stephen Nicolson 3 Andrew Gillespie 2 (180 Andrew)

James Byrne 3 John Kelly 0

David Gallagher 3 Damien Gamble 2

First Round

Declan Cunningham 3 Colin Doherty 0

Reece Brennan 3 Aaron Byrne 0

Dylan Curran 3 Conor Butler 0

Hugh Doherty 3 Brendan Kennedy 1

Tony Carlin 3 Phelim McGill 0

Aidan McGinley 3 Seamus Curran 0

Alan Byrne 3 Francis Hegarty 0

Stephen Harron 3 Jason Harron 0

Cartha Boyle 3 Cartha Boyle 2

Orin McDermott 3 Conor O’Donoghue 0

Alex Hughes 3 Jamie McNern 1

Andrew Gillespie 3 Matthew Cunningham 0

John Kelly 3 Antoine Molloy 0

David Gallagher 3 Oisin Byrne 2

Runner Up Alan Byrne with Conor McShane

Semi Finals Alex Hughes with Francis McShane

Semi Finals John McHugh with Conor McShane

Quarter Finals James Byrne and John Con McGinley with Conor McShane (missing Hugh Doherty and Stephen Harron)

Highest Checkout John Porter receiving his prize from John Byrne of The Rusty

Conor and Francis McShane with 2019 winner John Meencha Gallagher

The Con Sean is back on its usual time of year following last year’s delay and will continue from now on around the same time every year, we understand it’s been only a few short months since the event was held but as it was the landmark 20th anniversary we had to host it in the calendar year, if players are on time we can run this event as smoothly and quickly as we can as we acknowledge the capacity in the venue is not as big as other venues but with players cooperation we can have another successful day. Following last year’s dramatic final can John Con retain the title or will we have a new name on the cup as many fantastic players have yet to win this event.  The same as usual no entry’s on the day so leave your names on the Facebook event by calling into The Rusty or texting  086-9969256 we will have draw made in advance and first games at 3pm. Accommodation also available at The Rusty.

€1000 in prizes guaranteed €10 to enter. Open to all players.

List of previous 20 finals:
2018 John Con McGinley 6-5 Michael Leech
2017 John Flood 6-1 John Gallagher 1
2016 John Flood 6-5 Andrew Gillespie
2015 John Flood 6-2 Noel O'Donnell
2014 John Flood 6-4 Gerard McGlynn
2013 Dermot McGuire 6-1 John Gallagher
2012 John Con McGinley 6-4 Andrew Gillespie
2011 John Flood 6-4 John Murray
2010 John Flood 5-1 John D Gallagher
2009 Dermot McGuire 5-0 Declan Cunningham
2008 John McGinley 5-4 Declan Cunningham
2007 John Flood 4-2 Kenneth Kennedy
2006 Kenneth Kennedy 4-2 Tommy Feeney
2005 Charlie Grant 4-1 Declan Cunningham
2004 Garry Bell 4-0 John Con McGinley
2003 Raymond Hegarty 4-3 John Con McGinley
2002 John Ward 4-2 Joe Byrne
2001 Gerald Harvey 4-1 Alan McBrearty
2000 Seamus Curran 4-3 Hugh Doherty
1999 Kenneth Kennedy 4-1 Bernie Mullen

Upcoming Events

No events