2015 Grand Prix

Created: Wednesday, 14 October 2015

John Con wins 2015 SWDDL Grand Prix

John McGinley is the 2015 South West Grand Prix champion following his win over James Byrne in Kilcar House, this is the third year of this double in double out tournament and the standard was very high considering it was the first tournament of the season with most players getting off the mark fairly quick! Sixteen throwers entered this year’s tournament which was held on 11th September. In the final itself Johns better finishing was the difference as he ran out a 5-1 winner with almost all the games having both players on a finish, in the semi-finals John had a 5-1 victory over Kenneth Kennedy while James beat Kieran Carr who played some of the best darts of the evening (including 158 and 126 checkouts in the opening rounds) 5-3 in a very close match. In the quarters Kieran Carr had a 158 checkout in his 4-0 win over Martin Johnston, in the first round John Con beat John Menchia 4-3 in a very close contest that could have went anyway Menchia had a 160 start in one of the matches, Kieran Carr had a 126 checkout in his win over John McHugh while Andrew Gillespie had a 160 start against Roger McShane and Kieran Gallagher had a 146 start against Raymond Hegarty. Martin Johnston and Joe Shovlin and a close battle with Martin coming out on top 4-3.


John McGinley 5 James Byrne 1

Semi Finals

John McGinley 5 Kenneth Kennedy 1

James Byrne 5 Kieran Carr 3

Quarter Finals

John McGinley 4 Kieran Gallagher 1

Kenneth Kennedy 4 Andrew Gillespie 0

James Byrne 4 Kenneth Byrne 2

Kieran Carr 4 Martin Johnston 0 (158 checkout Kieran)

First Round

John McGinley 4 John Gallagher 3

Kieran Gallagher 4 Raymond Hegarty 0

Kenneth Kennedy 4 Ernan Cassidy 0

Andrew Gillespie 4 Roger McShane 2

James Byrne 4 Noel Kennedy 2

Kieran Carr 4 John McHugh 1 (126 checkout Kieran)

Martin Johnston 4 Joe Shovlin 3




Upcoming Events

No events