2014 Paddy Byrne Tournament

 John “Menchia” is the 2014 Paddy Byrne Champion

John Menchia Gallagher is the 2014 Paddy Byrne Perpetual Cup champion following a terrific display to beat defending champion and 2009 winner Dermot McGuire 6-4 in a great final in John Eoinin’s. John who has been one of the most consistent players in the area over the years never won this prestigious title and becomes the twelfth player to put his name on the cup in this the twentieth year of the event. Over 60 players entered on the day and it proved to be a very enjoyable evening with great matches on all the boards, in the semi-finals John beat Michael Byrne 5-3 and Dermot beat five times winner John Con McGinley 5-1, highest checkout of the day was a 154 by Dermot and least darts was by Kieran Gallagher with a 13 dart leg. Thanks to Heineken for their continued sponsorship and to John Eoinins and Roartys for hosting the events and to all the players, all who marked and checked or helped in any way thanks for your continued support.


John Gallagher 6 Dermot McGuire 4

Semi Finals

John Gallagher 5 Michael Byrne 3

Dermot McGuire 5 John McGinley 1

Quarter Finals

John Gallagher 4 Andrew Gillespie 2

Michael Byrne 4 Hugh Doherty Jnr 1

Dermot McGuire 4 Stephen Muirhead 0

John McGinley 4 Kevin Squires 2

Third Round

John Gallagher 4 Jamesie Boyle 3

Andrew Gillespie 4 Kevin McNern 0

Michael Byrne 4 Josie Gillespie 2

Hugh Doherty Jnr 4 JP Byrne 3

Dermot McGuire 4 John McHugh 0

Stephen Muirhead 4 Jason Cunnea 2

John McGinley 4 Norman Fuller 1

Kevin Squires 4 Gerry Carr 1

Second Round

Jamesie Boyle 3 Antony Gallagher 2

Andrew Gillespie 3 David Gillespie 0 (120 checkout)

Kevin McNern 3 Kieran Gallagher 1

Michael Byrne 3 Darragh Gallagher 1

Josie Gillespie 3 Noel McNelis 1

Hugh Doherty 3 James McGinley 2

JP Byrne 3 Andrew O’Gara 1

Dermot McGuire 3 David Kennedy 0

John McHugh 3 Gerard McNern 1

Stephen Muirhead 3 James Byrne 2

Jason Cunnea 3 Enda McGinley 0

John McGinley 3 Martin Carr 1

Norman Fuller 3 Jamie McNern 1

Kevin Squires 3 Noel McNern 0

Gerry Carr 3 Clement O’Gara 0

John Gallagher w/o Declan Cunningham

First Round

Jamesie Boyle 3 Noel McDevitt 0

Antony Gallagher 3 Kieran Carr 0

John Gallagher 3 Irwin Muirhead 1

Andrew Gillespie 3 Roger McShane 0

David Gillespie 3 Dessie McNern 2

Kevin McNern 3 Dessie Cunningham 0

Kieran Gallagher 3 Gabriel Boyle 1

Michael Byrne 3 John Byrne 0

Darragh Gallagher 3 Kenneth Byrne 0

Josie Gillespie 3 William Fuller 2

Noel McNelis 3 Conor Carr 1

Hugh Doherty 3 Colm McGlinchey 1

James McGinley 3 Aidan Gillespie 1

JP Byrne 3 Sarah McMorrow 0

Andrew O’Gara 3 Conor McNelis 0

Dermot McGuire 3 Bartley Callaghan 0

David Kennedy 3 Noel Hegarty 2

John McHugh 3 Colm McNelis 1

Gerard McNern 3 Gerald McNern 1

Stephen Muirhead 3 Patrick Byrne 0

James Byrne 3 Shane Gillespie 2

Jason Cunnea 3 Patrick McNelis 0

Enda McGinley w/o Kenneth Kennedy

John McGinley 3 Barry Carr 1

Martin Carr 3 Brendan Doherty 0

Norman Fuller 3 Jourdain Cunningham 1

Jamie McNern 3 Owen Carr 1

Kevin Squires 3 Nigel O’Rourke 0

Clement O’Gara 3 Ryan McNern 0




This year’s tournament takes place in The Glen Head Tavern and Roartys Bar, Sunday the 7th of December, 4pm sharp!!

Entry: 10euro and €1,000 in prizes

Restricted to South West Darts league area and Glencolmcille Darts throwers only.

The Byrne Family and the Organisers would like to thank Heineken for their continued support in part sponsorship of our tournament. 

Also pleased to announce that the draw will be an OPEN one this year, no seeding will take place. 

All throwers from the Glencomcille Singles Darts should give their names to John Con Mc Ginley, on Saturday 6th Dec if possible.

All Throwers from the South West Darts League could do the same and leave names with Jason Cunnea. We would encourage any past winners or past throwers from the S.W.D.D.L. to come along for the day and enter.

The Paddy Byrne Cup, proudly sponsored by Rossan Knitwear, Glenmalin way back in January 1995.

Upcoming Events

No events