2017 Leo Molloy

Created: Tuesday, 11 April 2017

Michael Leech is 2017 Leo Molloy Champion

Michael Leech finished off a brilliant day of darts by clinching his first ever Leo Molloy title following a 6-3 win over Stephen Harron in Kilcar House on Saturday night this was both players first final and so we were going to have a new name on this prestigious cup. Stephen from Ballintra raced into a 3-1 lead in the final with Michael taking out 156 for his leg but that’s as good as it got for Harron as Leech who was in superb form all evening won five legs in a row to seal the victory. Michael overcame holder John Menchia in a brilliant semi-final 5-4 with John missing two darts at double nine to steal the match at 4-4, Stephen beat 2015 winner and last year’s runner up Liam Gallagher 5-1 with a brilliant performance to take his place in the final. In the quarter finals Michael beat fellow county star and former champion Charlie Grant 4-2, Stephen beat John McHugh from Carrick 4-1, Menchia overcame teammate Andrew Gillespie 4-3 in a great match and Liam beat Martin Creand 4-0. Over 50 players took part in the men’s event and as usual we had a very high standard of darts many thanks to all who entered in this fitting memorial to Leo who done so much for darts not only in the area but the county.


Michael Leech 6 Stephen Harron 3

Semi Finals

Michael Leech 5 John Menchia 4

Stephen Harron 5 Liam Gallagher 1

Quarter Finals

Michael Leech 4 Charlie Grant 2

John Menchia 4 Andrew Gillespie 3

Stephen Harron 4 John McHugh 1

Liam Gallagher 4 Martin Creand 0

Board Finals

Michael Leech 3 John Con McGinley 2

Charlie Grant 3 Cartha Boyle 1

John Menchia 3 Kieran Gallagher 0

Andrew Gillespie 3 Kieran Carr 1

Stephen Harron 3 Kenneth Kennedy 1

John McHugh 3 Ryan McBrearty 1

Liam Gallagher 3 James Weir 0

Martin Creand 3 Owen Carr 2

Second Round

Michael Leech 3 Joe Shovlin 1

John Con McGinley 3 Roger McShane 0

Charlie Grant 3 Irwin Muirhead 2

Cartha Boyle 3 Francie Begley 1

John Menchia 3 Martin Barr 1

Kieran Gallagher 3 Daniel Meehan 0

Andrew Gillespie 3 Paul Gallagher 0

Kieran Carr 3 James Bracken Byrne 1

Stephen Harron 3 James Byrne 1

Kenneth Kennedy 3 Paul Leech 2

John McHugh 3 Alex Hughes 2

Ryan McBrearty 3 Dylan Curran 1

Liam Gallagher 3 Stephen Nicolson 0

James Weir 3 Andrew Barron 1

Martin Creand 3 Martin O’Connor Jnr 1

Owen Carr 3 David Fuller 1

First Round

Michael Leech 3 Colin Doherty 0

Joe Shovlin 3 Martin O’Connor Snr 0

Roger McShane 3 Christy Byrne 0

Charlie Grant 3 Cara Boyle 0

Cartha Boyle 3 David Harron 1

Francie Begley 3 Darren Rawdon 0

John Menchia 3 Cormac Cunningham 1

Daniel Meehan 3 Michael Curran 2

Paul Gallagher 3 Ade Sommers 2

Kieran Carr 3 Kyle Davis 0

James Bracken Byrne 3 Hugh Doherty 1

James Byrne 3 Eoghan McGill 2

Paul Leech 3 Seanie Boyle 1

Dylan Curran 3 Aidan McGinley 1

Stephen Nicolson 3 Brian O’Donnell 1

Andrew Barron 3 Dermot McGuire 0

Martin Creand 3 Declan Quinn 1

Owen Carr 3 Ronan Gillespie 1


Runner up Stephen Harron

Semi Finalist John Menchia

Semi Finalist Liam Gallagher

Board winners Charlie Grant, Andrew Gillespie and John McHugh (missing Martin Creand)

Daniel Meehan is first Leo Molloy Youths Winner

Daniel Meehan from Mountcharles is the first winner of the Leo Molloy Youths Competition played before the men’s event on Saturday, he defeated Ryan McBrearty 5-1 in the final in the semi-final he beat Liam Donegan 4-1 where he had a 180 and 123 checkout while Ryan beat Ronan Gillespie 4-1.


Daniel Meehan 5 Ryan McBrearty 1

Semi Finals

Daniel Meehan 4 Liam Donegan 1

Ryan McBrearty 4 Ronan Gillespie 2

Quarter Finals

Daniel Meehan 4 Aidan McGinley 2

Liam Donegan 4 Martin O’Connor 0

Ryan McBrearty 4 Seanie Boyle 2

Ronan Gillespie 4 Owen Carr 3

First Round

Aidan McGinley 3 David Fuller 0

Liam Donegan 3 Dylan Curran 1

Ryan McBrearty 3 Kyle Davis 0

Seanie Boyle 3 Ruri McGinley 1

Ronan Gillespie 3 Alex Hughes 2

Since 2000 we have seen some of the biggest names in darts travel to Kilcar to play in the Leo Molloy Memorial Darts Tournament, Leo who was the first manager to manage Donegal to an All-Ireland title in 1998 Leo was well liked and respected in the world of darts and was heavily involved in the South West area with restabilising the league and helping to run tournaments including the famous Norman Blaine Competition which was one of the biggest in Ireland at the time but was sadly taken at a young age and this tournament is a fitting tribute to him. PDC star Brendan Dolan has won this tournament four times while ex BDO player Martin McCloskey has won it three times, next on the list and current holder is John Menchia Gallagher who’s recent good form has seen him rewarded in a county call up, he defeated 2015 winner Liam Gallagher from Galway in last year’s thrilling final. This year’s tournament promises to be one of the most competitive ever with the rise in talented youth players in the area mixed with players from the North West and beyond it promises to be a great day of darts. This year’s event takes place on Saturday 8th April at 4pm SHARP this is a ticket only event and is open to all players, tickets can be bought in Kilcar House, John Joes Bar from Kenneth at 086-8361698, James at 086-9969256 or online at www.donegaldarts.com with a guaranteed €1,000 in prizes so please get your names in early. Also on the day the annual Ladies Tournament will take place with entries taken on the day where Geraldine Harkin will be going for three in a row and for the first time we will have a Youths competition starting at 1pm with names taken in Kilcar House from 12pm.

Previous Men’s finals:

2016 John Gallagher 6 Liam Gallagher 4
2015 Liam Gallagher 6 Antony Mularkey 1
2014 Charlie Grant 6 Amir Quiambao 1
2013 Campbell Jackson 6 Charlie Grant 1
2012 John Gallagher 5 John McGinley 2
2010 JJ Dolan 5 James Deery 2
2009 Brendan Dolan 5 John McGinley 2
2008 Brendan Dolan 5 John McGinley 2
2007 Gerald Harvey 5 Danny McDaid 0
2006 John Con McGinley 5 Brendan Dolan 4
2005 Martin McCloskey 5 Amir Quiambao 1
2004 Brendan Dolan 5 Declan Cunningham 2
2003 Brendan Dolan 5 Sean McGowan 2
2002 Sean McGowan 5 Martin McCloskey 3
2001 Martin McCloskey 5 Anthony Whoriskey 0
2000 Martin McCloskey 5 Gerald Harvey 0

Image may contain: text

CONTACT:086-9969256 or 086-8361698


Get tickets on PayPal 


Number of Tickets
Hits: 3383

Upcoming Events

No events