2010 League Final

Created: Wednesday, 17 August 2011 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

Cope House 5 McIntires 3

The Cope House are the 2010 League Champions following a 5-3 victory over holders McIntires, the Killybegs side went 2-1 up after the doubles with Stephen Muirhead/Philip Gallagher beating Mike Naulty/Richie Cunningham 2-0 with double one and double five checkouts and Rodney McBrearty/Irwin Muirhead beating Declan and Niall Cunningham 2-1 with Irwin hitting a 180, Declan finished 108 in the first and Irwin took out 104 to win the match. Brendan White/Emmett Quigley won 2-0 against Gerry McBrearty/David Gallagher 2-0 in the second game of the night, Emmett finished 62 and tops.

The Cope then went 3-1 up with Gerry McBrearty inflicting a first defeat of the season on Mike Naulty beating him 2-0 with double one and double nine checkouts, Declan Cunningham pulled one back for McIntires with a 2-1 win against Philip Gallagher, Philip had a 180 in his winning leg Declan finished double six and sixteen. Stephen Muirhead made it 4-2 with a 2-1 win against Brendan White, Brendan won the first leg on tops then Stephen made it 1-1 with the help of a 180 and then took out tops to win the match. McIntires best player of the night Emmett Quigley beat Irwin Muirhead 2-1 with two double two checkouts. Rodney McBrearty one of the Copes most consistent players all season was the hero for the Killybegs side when he came from 1-0 down to beat Niall Cunningham 2-1, Niall had a 180 in the first leg and finished 56 while it was double twelve and a league winning double tops that won the match for The Cope denying McIntires the treble so the Sliabh Liag side of 2003-04 are still the last team to record that feat and finally all credit to both teams for a great sporting game of darts.

Thanks to the management and staff of The Cope for all their help on the night, the markers and checkers and anyone else who helped on the night. The only disappointing matter is apart from the two finalists only one other team was represented on the night which is a pity really as this is the highlight of the season which started on 25th September.

Thanks to all 67 players who played during the season, the seven bars that entered teams and all who supported and helped during the season thanks again for your continued support and hopefully we will see you all again and that we will have some new teams next season as this was one of the most competitive season ever with the gap between all teams closing all the time. One the subject of this years prize money we lowered the entry fee this year and had one less team so naturally the prizes had to be reduced also we had to get names on the cups and when you take the fee for the trophies out of that as well so that is the reason for the reduced prizes but personally it should be for the winning of the cups not the money!

2009-10 SWDDL League Semi Finals

The Rusty 2-5 Cope House in McIntires

McIntires 4-5 Roartys in Bridge Bar

League runners up and Shield winners McIntires

League runners up and Shield winners McIntires

Gerry McBrearty receiving the league cup from PRO James Byrne

Gerry McBrearty receiving the league cup from PRO James Byrne

More Photos HERE


Hits: 3360