2006 Knockout Cup Final

Created: Wednesday, 17 August 2011 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

Glenhead 4 Fawltys 1

The Glenhead Tavern won the 2006 knockout final to become the first team from Glen to win the competition since the 80’s and make it 22 wins in a row this season the final was played in front of a large crowd in John Joe’s last Saturday.  The first game seen the meeting of John Con McGinley and Irwin Muirhead, Irwin took the first leg and was well ahead in the second but his finishing let him down and John took the leg, he went on to take the next two to put the Cashel side 1 up.

Martin Slua Boyle played the best darts of the night in his 3-1 win over Dermot McGuire hitting 118 finish in the first leg to level the tie 1-1.  Kieran Carr put Glenhead 2-1 by defeating Alan McBrearty 3-0 and Dermot Gillespie made it 3-1with a 3-1 win against the youngest player on the night Stephen Muirhead.   So with The Glenhead needing one more leg it gave Kevin Squires the chance to give them victory and he made no mistake beating Rodney McBrearty 3-0 and he also had a 180 in the victory.

John Con McGinley 3 Irwin Muirhead 1
Dermot McGuire 1 Martin Slua Boyle 3
Kieran Carr 3 Alan McBrearty 0
Dermot Gillespie 3 Stephen Muirhead 1
Kevin Squires 3 Rodney McBrearty 0
Pat Curran v Gerry McBrearty
John Kelly v David Spot Gallagher

2006 SWDDL Knockout Cup Runners Up Fawltys.

Hits: 3475