2006 Con Sean

Created: Wednesday, 17 August 2011 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

The first winner of the “Con Sean” in 1999 Kenneth Kennedy from Kilcar (who is not playing league darts for anyone this season!) became the first player to win the cup for the second time after a 4-2 final win against first time finalist Tommy Feeney from Ardara who plays league darts in Kilcar for O’Garas.  68 players entered this years contest the first to be played on a Saturday, unfortunately due to the larger than expected turnout the tournament ran latter than expected forcing us to cancel the raffle, all moneys collect will be donated to the Killybegs Hospice.

Board number one was won by County player Declan Cunningham (Ringfort) he defeated Gerard Gallagher (O’Garas) in the final on what was the toughest board of the day with former winners Irwin Muirhead (Fawltys) and Raymond Hegerty (Bridge Bar) amongst some of the players on the board.

Board two was won by Tommy Feeney he beat Barry Doherty (John Joe’s) in the board final. Two times runner up from Glen John Con McGinley (Glenhead Tavern) won board three defeating Colm Carr (O’Garas) in the final
Kenneth Kennedy won Board 4 beating Adrian Byrne (Bridge Bar) also on this board was former winner Seamus Curran (Bridge Bar).

In the semis Tommy beat John Con 3-1 and Kenneth beat Declan 3-1

Thanks to the following: Seamus Haughey (Rathlin Knitwear), Raymond O’Donnell, Adrian McGuire (Carrick Meats), Mark & Carmel McNern (Slibh Liag Bistro), ticket sellers and anyone else who helped out.

Kenneth Kennedy 4 Tommy Feeney 2
Semi Finals
Kenneth Kennedy 3 Declan Cunningham 1
Tommy Feeney 3 John Con McGinley 1

Quarter Finals
Declan Cunningham bt Gerard Gallagher
Tommy Feeney bt Barry Doherty
John Con McGinley bt Colm Carr
Kenneth Kennedy bt Adrian Byrne

Board 1
Plem Round
Jason Cunnia bt Brain McIntyre
First Round
Hugh Doherty bt Jason Cunnia
Gerard Gallagher bt Jason Ellis
Liam McShane W/O JP Byrne
Pat Curran bt Raymond Hegerty
Irwin Muirhead bt Conor McShane (Teelin)
Andrew Gillespie bt Patrick Cunnia
John Kelly bt Jason McGuire
Declan Cunningham bt Joseph Mockler
Second Round
Gerard Gallagher bt Hugh Doherty,
Liam McShane bt Pat Curran,
Irwin Muirhead bt Andrew Gillespie
Declan Cunningham bt John Kelly
Semi Finals
Gerard Gallagher bt Liam McShane
Declan Cunningham bt Irwin Muirhead
Declan Cunningham bt Gerard Gallagher

Board 2
Plem Round
Dermot McGuire bt Kieran Carr
First Round
Jamesie Boyle bt Dermot McGuire
Barry Doherty bt Paul McIntire
Michael Molloy bt Sharon Cunningham
Conor McShane (Kilcar) bt Pauric O’Donnell
Garath O’Donnell bt Colm McNelis
Kevin Squires bt Columba McGarvey
Tommy Feeney bt Alan McBrearty
Connie Doherty bt Noel Cunnia
Second Round
Barry Doherty bt Jamesie Boyle
Michael Molloy Snr bt Conor McShane
Kevin Squires bt Garath O’Donnell
Tommy Feeney bt Connie Doherty
Semi Finals
Barry Doherty bt Michael Molloy
Tommy Feeney bt Kevin Squires
Tommy Feeney bt Barry Doherty

Board 3
Plem Round
William Fuller bt Joe Byrne
First Round
Frank McBrearty bt William Fuller
Hugh McGuire bt Ronald Doherty
William Maxwell bt Patrick McNelis
John Con McGinley bt Dougie Watson
Francis McShane bt Columba Carroll
Francis McBrearty bt Dean Fuller
Colm Carr bt Michael Byrn,
Kevin Cunningham bt Andrew O’Gara
Second Round
Frank McBrearty bt Hugh McGuire
John Con McGinley bt William Maxwell
Francis McShane bt Francis McBrearty
Colm Carr bt Kevin Cunningham
Semi Finals
John Con McGinley bt Frank McBrearty
Colm Carr bt Francis McBrearty
John Con McGinley bt Colm Carr

Board 4
Plem Round
Kenneth Kennedy bt Osin Clancy
First Round
Kenneth Kennedy bt Brain McNally
Seamus Curran bt Michael Molloy Jnr
Garry Gillespie bt John Burke
Adrian Hamilton bt Garry Shovlin
Adrian Byrne bt Damien Ward
James Byrne bt David Kennedy
Gabriel O’Neill bt John McHugh
Adrian McGuire bt Gavin O’Donnell
Second Round
Kenneth Kennedy bt Seamus Curran
Adrian Hamilton bt Garry Gillespie
Adrian Byrne bt James Byrne
Gabriel O’Neill bt Adrian McGuire
Semi Finals
Kenneth Kennedy bt Adrian Hamilton
Adrian Byrne bt Gabriel O’Neill
Kenneth Kennedy bt Adrian Byrne

Tommy Feeney receiving his runner up prize.

Losing semi finalists Declan Cunningham, John Con McGinley with James Byrne & Conor McShane.

More Photos HERE

Hits: 4808

Upcoming Events

No events