2004 Leo Molloy

Created: Tuesday, 16 August 2011 Last Updated: Tuesday, 12 August 2014 Written by James Byrne

The annual Leo Molloy Memorial Darts Tournament held in Kilcar Village on Sunday 14th December last, upwards on 80 players contested the Men’s and Ladies open singles.

In the Men’s Tournament all 8 boards were fiercely contested with local player’s claming victory in half of them.

Quarter Final Results:
Tom Kirby (Kildare) 4 Martin McCluskey (Donegal) 3,
Declan Cunningham (Dunkineely) 4 John Con McGinley (Glen) 3,
Glenn Gordon (Sligo) 4 Barry Doherty (Kilcar) 2,
Brendan Dolan (Belcoo) 4 Adrian Byrne (Carrick) 2.

Semi Finals
In the first semi final reigning champion Brendan Dolan defeated former Ireland International Tom Kirby by 4 games to 2. While in the other semi Dunkineely man Declan Cunningham, who plays for McIntires became the first South West Donegal Darts League player to reach the final with an impressive 4-2 victory over Sligo man Glenn Gordon

The final proved to be a thoroughly entertaining affair with high scoring and top quality finishing by both players, in the end the man from Belcoo Brendan Dolan proved just to strong and ran out a deserving winner to retain his title, final score Brendan Dolan 5 Declan Cunningham 2.

In the Ladies competition Angela Deward won the title beating Marion McDermott
3-2 in a trilling final.

The organising committee would like to thank the main sponsors Smithwicks, John Joe’s Bar, Kilcar House and O’Garas Bar without who’s help this competition would not be possible.  And also thanks to all who helped out on the day and finally to all the player who continue to make this tournament one of the best in the North-West.

Hits: 3608

Upcoming Events

No events